Durga - Goddess of Protection and Mother of the Universe

Leave a Comment

Durga - Goddess of Protection and Mother of the Universe | Wicca, Magic, Witchcraft, Paganism
Leia em português!
  • Attributes: Goddess of Power, Protection and Mother of the Universe
  • Symbols: Fire, lions, bowls with rice, spoons and yellow things in general
  • Place: India 
Durga - Goddess of Protection | Wicca, Magic, Witchcraft, Paganism
Essentially, to the Hindus, all Goddesses are different representations of one same deity called "Goddess" or "Devi." Perhaps the most important and most powerful incarnation in Hinduism is Durga, who appears with many faces and many names in various occurrences of her mythology. She is usually represented as a beautiful woman with 3 eyes and eight or ten arms, holding a divine weapon in each hand.

Her left eye represents the desire (moon), the right eye represents the action (sun) and the central one represents the knowledge (fire). The birth of Durga dates many years ago when the demon* Mahishasura won a favor from Shiva after long penance. The devil asked the Lord for a blessing that would make him invincible against any man or God, and this desire was granted with some mistrust.

Since he considered himself immortal, Mahishasura began his reign of terror, attacking the land and even the abode of the Gods. Many were killed mercilessly in a war that lasted a hundred years. Defeated and scared, the Gods sought refuge with Brahma, who took them to Shiva and Vishnu. As the story of this demon was being narrated, a powerful energy emanated from their bodies, illuminating the three worlds (physical, astral and causal).

This energy concentrated on one spot and took shape from the Goddess. Her face was lit like Shiva's. Her ten arms were like Vishnu's. Her feet were like Brahma's. Her hair was formed from the light of Yama and her breasts were formed from the light of Somanath.

Her waist came from Indra, legs and thighs from Varun's , hip from Bhoodev's, toes from Surya's, and fingers from Vasus's. Her nose was formed from the light of Kuber, the teeth from Prajapati's and her three eyes from Agni's. Her eyebrows came from the two Sandhyas and the ears came from Vayu.

From the energy of the other Gods, Durga appeared, being gifted by them with objects to counter Mahishasura, for she was the only one who could defeat him.

And so she rode on her lion and defeated him, in a battle that boiled oceans and destroyed continents.

*Demons, in Hindu culture, are called "asura", which translates into "antigods", antagonists of "sura", or Gods.

Goddess of Protection

The word "durga", in Sanskrit, is translated as a stronghold or local that is difficult to fall. Hindus believe that the Goddess Durga protects her devotees from the evil and misery of the world.

She carries various objects in her hand, given to her by the Gods when she went to fight an ancient asura. Are they:

  • Chakram: Given by Naryana, it turns around the index finger of the Goddess without ever being touched. It symbolizes justice or dharma.
  • Shell (or conch): Given by Varuna, it symbolizes the word "Ohm", a mantra that indicates a connection with the divine through sound.
  • Bow and Arrow: Given by Surya, they represent energy. Durga holds them in the same hand, demonstrating their power over potential and kinetic energy.
  • Thunder: Given by Indra, this weapon symbolizes firmness of mind. Thunder can destroy where it falls without being affected, and so must be Durga's devotee, overcoming his challenges without losing confidence in himself.
  • Lotus Flower: The flower is not fully blossomed in the hand of the Goddess, symbolizing a certainty of future success, the awakening of spiritual awareness. The lotus is a flower that manages to be born in the midst of filth (and its Sanskrit name, "pankaja", means that), and this represents the devotee who manages to rise spiritually in the midst of adversity.
  • Sword: Given by Yama, this object represents sharp knowledge and intellect. The Goddess uses the sword to cut off the veil of ignorance that holds someone to wrong actions and karma.
  • Spear: Given by Agni, the spear destroys negativity and ensures prosperity.
  • Mace: Vishwakarma's gift, this weapon hits any enemy regardless of their defense. Durga's blessings will help those seeking to defeat any threat.
  • Trident (or Trishul): Present of Shiva, it is a symbol of the three Gunas (three qualities in a human): Satvva (creative force), Rajas (manifestation) and Tamas (inertia). The Gunas represent a triangle of opposing and complementary forces, balancing existence. Durga manages to give the courage to fight with his evils to someone who is not aligned with any of these qualities.

The Goddess also received a lion as a gift from God Himavat. This animal represents power, will and determination; When Durga rides on it, it represents the dominion of these qualities and suggests to the devotee that it is necessary to possess them to be freed of the ego.

Many Incarnations

All Goddesses are different incarnations of the same deity within Hinduism, so basically, all of them are "faces" from Mother Goddess Durga. We can mention among these incarnations: Kali, Sarasvati, Lakshimi, Bhagvati, Parvati, Bhavani, Maya, Java, Ambika, Laulita ... They are several Goddesses, and at the same time, one deity, sharing attributes and devotion of a people.

Durga also has nine aspects (which are also deities by themselves) that are honored during the nine days of her festival in September. They are: Skondamata, Kusumanda, Shailaputri, Kaalratri, Brahmacharini, Maha Gauri, Katyayani, Chandraghanta and Siddhidatri.

In addition to these various "existences," Durga also has many names: 108 exactly.
They appear in the texts of Durga Saptashat (or Chandi), ancient scriptures in Sanskrit that tell the story of the battle of the Goddess against Mahishasura.

During the days of the Durga Puja festival, her devotees pray to the Goddess in her 108 names, just as Shiva did to please her.

Follow and listen to Trismegistia for free on Spotify

Summoning Durga

There are no rules or ready-to-use recipes to summon any Goddess in Wicca. The summoning rite comes from within the self. When we study each Goddesses' myth and symbols we can have suggested some ways to summoning them.
The main festival for the Goddess, the Durga Puja, takes place at the end of September. Her devotees thank the Goddess for her deeds and urge her to continue offering protection. During the 6 days of the festival various rituals are performed for different aspects, and anyone who wants to show devotion to the Goddess can perform them, but it is important to study them, as well as the festival itself so that they can be performed correctly.

Below you can find a simple ritual to ask for protection from the Goddess, not requiring much in-depth study.

We recommend the ritual to be done during Crescent Moon or Full Moon, so that the results will grow.

Necessary items:
  • A Candle
  • An Incense
  • A bowl of rice with a spoon
  • A Durga's Symbol (optional if you want to work on some deeper aspect of yourself.) To work the desired aspect, use some symbol that refers to the equivalent weapon carried by the Goddess

No matter the time of day, perform the ritual in a quiet place.

Light the candle and the incense, meditating on your request.
You can use Durga's mantra to facilitate meditation:

"Om Dum Durgayei Namaha" which means "Om and greetings to the feminine energy that protects against all forms of negative energies"

Call Durga to thank her for the protection she gives every day and to ask her to continue this way.

Thank her again and leave the candle and the incense burning.

You can consume the rice or bury it.

Whenever you want, light the candle again, referring your thoughts to the Goddess so that she will always protect you.

Próximo postNewer Post Post anteriorOlder Post Home